The New Guy

Hello, my name is Josh Oh and I’m the new guy in the mobilization department at OC. Let me tell you a little bit about myself and how I got here.

I was born in Dallas, TX, but my stay in the United States was short lived, as my family joined OC and moved to Indonesia just before I turned two. I have three sisters, 2 older and 1 younger, and we were all born within 5 years. My parents worked as missionaries in Indonesia for 9 years, and then we moved to Colorado Springs in the summer of 1999. And since then, Colorado Springs has slowly become my home. I went to college at Letourneau University and got my Bachelor of Arts in Christian Ministry, with a concentration in Cross-Cultural ministry. I graduated in the summer of 2010, and then left for Amsterdam 3 months later. I spent 9 months in Amsterdam, volunteering in the Shelter Jordan Christian Hostel, living and working alongside Christian volunteers and swapping stories with travelers from all over the world. I moved back to Colorado Springs in the summer of 2011, and since then I’ve been living here and working in various jobs, mostly at the Wisdom Tea House, a cafe type restaurant where I spent a few happy years. I also tried my hand at youth ministry, and though I truly enjoy volunteering in the ministry, I found that being on church staff was not for me, at least at the time. And throughout the last three years, I’ve been searching for what God might have for me.

Enter, Jeff Boesel. Well, I guess I brought that upon myself. I was looking for some sort of work that involved relating to people and helping in some way, and my father innocuously suggested that I should talk to OC and see if they had any openings. Considering my life background with OC, and my growing desire to support international missions, it seemed like a logical idea. So, I emailed Jeff, and the rest, as they say, is history. Well, not really history, cause that was just 6 weeks ago. We sat down over some coffee and talked about what mobilization looks like, and Jeff expressed a desire to involve me in some way, and I decided that I was on board with that! One thing led to another, and I have been working part-time as a mobilizer for the past month!

I don’t really know exactly what I’m doing yet, but as I continue to learn and experience more, I am realizing that this just might be exactly what I was looking for. I am continuing to become more excited as I think about meeting people, going to conferences and missions fairs, and being an ambassador for OC, and the Kingdom! My passion is to build relationships with people, hearing their stories, and coming alongside them in their journey as they seek to follow God’s guidance!

If you have any questions for me, or want to talk more, please contact me at joshuaoh@oci.org. I’d love to hear your story as well!

May you be blessed!

Josh

Don't take me too seriously

Join the Conversation

